Charlie Watts - 'Anthology' 2LP


Charlie Watts - 'Anthology' 2LP

Released 30th June

Charlie Watts “Anthology” is an affectionate retrospective and a reflection of just how frequently Watts was able to exercise his jazz muscles between Rolling Stones commitments to create a bespoke discography of his own. Including 3 unreleased tracks.

The names of Charlie's jazz heroes fell from his lips like a superfan turning the pages of a personal scrapbook. Charlie Parker, Gerry Mulligan, Chico Hamilton, Dave Green, Stan Tracey, Peter King, Courtney Pine, Gail Thompson, Brian Lemon, Gerard Presencer, the Red Rodney group and collaborator Jim Keltner. He knew every player, every session, every album, every outfit they wore on the cover, and he spoke about them with a deep and genuine reverence. He may have been a globally loved hero in the biggest band in the word, but he swatted away any compliment or comparison with his musical favourites. He counted himself their admirer, never their equal.

The Anthology includes an extended essay by Paul Sexton which documents Charlie Watt’s jazz career and the essential albums covered in the collection.

LP 1
Side 1:

1 Stompin' at The Savoy

  1. Flying Home
  2. Practising, Practising, Just Great
  3. Relaxing at Camarillo

Side 2:

  1. Blackbird - White Chicks
  2. Cool Blues
  3. You Go to My Head
  4. If I Should Lose You
  5. My Ship

LP 2

Side 3:

  1. Long Ago (And Far Away)
  2. Good Morning Heartache
  3. Never Let Me Go
  4. Roy Haynes (Reprise)
  5. Airto

Side 4

  1. Roll 'Em Charlie
  2. What's New
  3. Take the "A" Train

You may also like

Recently viewed