Sony Music

BOBBY GILLESPIE & JEHNNY BETH Utopian Ashes LP Indie Exclusive Clear Vinyl + 12" insert



Indies retail exclusive Clear Vinyl (Ltd x3000) (printed inner sleeve)

Limited amount of 12" x 12" inserts to go with initial copies  - see pic.

Primal Scream frontman Bobby Gillespie, alongside solo artist and Savages vocalist Jehnny Beth,  presents this stunning debut solo project collection  - exploring loss, miscommunication and emotional inarticulacy that a married couple experience as they realise that their relationship is breaking down.


‘Utopian Ashes’ draws on the tradition of country soul classics, such as Gram Parsons and Emmylou Harris’s ‘Grievous Angel’ and George Jones and Tammy Wynette’s ‘We Go Together’, to deal with the heavy realities of love turning sour. It’s an album for people who have dealt with the inevitable sadness that comes with age and acknowledged the realities of life. There is no sweetening of the pill, but it does achieve what should be the goal of all good art: to make us feel less alone. And while it’s not autobiographical, it channels heartfelt truth from the songwriters’ own experiences.


In addition to Bobby Gillespie and Jehnny Beth, the album features Johnny Hostile (bass) alongside Primal Scream trio Andrew Innes (guitar), Martin Duffy (piano) and Darrin Mooney (drums).



  1. Chase It Down
  2. English Town
  3. Remember We Were Lovers
  4. Your Heart Will Always Be Broken
  5. Stones Of Silence
  6. You Don’t Know What Love Is
  7. You Can Trust Me Now
  8. Living A Lie
  9. Sunk In Reverie


You may also like

Recently viewed