SIMPLE MINDS Street Fighting Years 2LP SET

SIMPLE MINDS Street Fighting Years 2LP SET

  • £29.99
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

Street Fighting Years, released in May 1989 and produced by Trevor Horn (and Stephen Lipson) was Simple Minds’ eighth studio album.

Recorded in Scotland between 1988 and 1989, during a period of personnel changes within the band, Street Fighting Years was a departure from the band’s previous sound. While still maintaining the Arena Rock sound the band were known for, they moved away from the Soul influences on the previous records and embraced a new Celtic/Folk sound. The lyrics built on the more political themes which the band had introduced with “Ghost Dancing”, covering topics such as the poll tax and the Irish ‘Troubles’, and political activists including Nelson Mandela and Steven Biko.

The album became the band’s fourth successive number one album in the UK. It was released on the back of the chart-topping single “Belfast Child”, which was released three months earlier and had reached number one in the singles chart.

  • 1.Street Fighting Years
  • 2.Soul Crying Out
  • 3.Wall of Love
  • 4.This Is Your Land
  • 5.Take A Step Back
  • 6.Kick It In
  • 7.Let It All Come Down
  • 8.Mandela Day
  • 9.Belfast Child
  • 10.Biko
  • 11.When Spirits Rise