JOHNNY CASH Out Among The Stars LP 180g

JOHNNY CASH Out Among The Stars LP 180g

  • £12.99
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

Johnny Cash Out Among The Stars on 180g LP + Download


New Album Comprised of 12 Recently Discovered Johnny Cash Studio Recordings from 1981 and 1984 Produced by Billy Sherrill

Discovered by Son John Carter Cash Along with Cash Experts at Legacy while Cataloguing Johnny's Exhaustive Archives in Hendersonville, TN and at the Sony Music Archives 

Co-produced by John Carter Cash/Archivist Steve Berkowitz & Restored with Assistance from Musicians Marty Stuart, Buddy Miller and Carlene Carter

Includes Cash Originals and Duets with June Carter Cash & Waylon Jennings


Legacy Recordings is proud to announce the release of Out Among The Stars (Columbia/Legacy), a remarkable new album comprised of 12 recently discovered Johnny Cash studio recordings. The tracks on Out Among The Stars were originally recorded in Nashville, Tennessee at Columbia Studios in 1981 and 1111 Sound Studios in 1984 and produced by Billy Sherrill, the architect of the "countrypolitan" sound who was heading A&R at CBS Records Nashville at the time.

On these songs - which include duets with June Carter Cash and Waylon Jennings - Johnny worked with an expanded ensemble featuring a young Marty Stuart on guitar and mandolin and Nashville A-Team members Jerry Kennedy (guitar), Pete Drake (steel guitar), Hargus "Pig" Robbins (piano) and Henry Strzelecki (bass).

The recordings, which have never been released in any form, are not demos, outtakes or alternate versions. They remained in the vaults during the years Columbia Records released Johnny Cash's last albums for the label and were subsequently forgotten. The recordings on Out Among The Stars first surfaced in 2012, when John Carter Cash, along with the Cash experts at Legacy, was cataloguing his father's and mother's exhaustive archives in Hendersonville, Tennessee, and at the Sony Music Archives. 

"When my parents passed away, it became necessary to go through this material," he says. "We found these recordings that were produced by Billy Sherrill in the early 1980s...they were beautiful." John Carter Cash, along with co-producer and archivist Steve Berkowitz, enlisted Marty Stuart, Buddy Miller and Carlene Carter, as well as other master musicians, to collaborate in restoring the album at the Cash Cabin Studios in Hendersonville, TN.

The result, Out Among The Stars, is a great lost Johnny Cash album connecting the revolutionary rockabilly of his Sun Records years to the epochal final albums he made for American Recordings. Across five decades of making music, Cash was not only one of the most prolific artists to ever cut records, he was also an American music archetype, the Man in Black who crossed over into pop culture and never sold out. Thirty years in the making, Out Among The Stars is a classic Johnny Cash album, about to be heard for the very first time!

Johnny Cash Out Among The Stars Track Listing:

1.  Out Among the Stars
2.  Baby Ride Easy duet with June Carter Cash
3.  She Used to Love Me a Lot
4.  After All
5.  I'm Movin' On duet with Waylon Jennings
6.  If I Told You Who It Was
7.  Call Your Mother (written by Johnny Cash)
8.  I Drove Her Out of My Mind
9.  Tennessee
10. Rock and Roll Shoes
11. Don't You Think It's Come Our Time duet with June Carter Cash
12. I Came to Believe (written by Johnny Cash)