ELBOW The Seldom Seen Kid 2LP SET

ELBOW The Seldom Seen Kid 2LP SET

  • £15.99
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

Elbow The Seldom Seen Kid on 45RPM 2LP

Recorded by the band at their own facility within Salford’s Blueprint Studios and produced by keyboard player, Craig Potter, Elbow's fourth full-length album, the Mercury Prize-winning The Seldom Seen Kid was originally issued in 2008 as the follow up to 2005’s universally acclaimed Leaders Of The Free World. The lyrical core of The Seldom Seen Kid sees Guy Garvey address key questions of life. The 11 tracks on the album cover themes of love and loss and become the central focus of an album that sees Elbow, a band universally recognized for their musical ability and innovation; stretch their sonic template further than ever before.

Moving from the sparse electronic of “Starlings” through the flamenco influenced “The Bones Of You” to the Zepellinesque rock of “Grounds For Divorce” where Garvey’s humor shines in the opening couplet of ‘I’ve been working on a cocktail / Called grounds for divorce’. The album centerpiece, “The Loneliness of a Tower Crane Driver” melds Elbow’s musical ability to create epic heartfelt soundtracks with Guy’s knack of making the personal universal, telling the story of a boastful tower crane operator revealing the inner misery of his life in a discussion of the hollow center of many outwardly successful lives.

Elbow’s ability to deliver a knock out ballad is, as with previous albums, very much evident on the gorgeous “Mirrorball” and the sunny cousin to Asleep In The Back’s “Any Day Now,” and first single, ‘”One Day Like This.” “The Fix” denotes a substantial change of mood, being the first duet on an Elbow album, Richard Hawley joins Guy for a Bacharach like story of two hustlers planning their rosy future. “Friend Of Ours” closes the album in a tribute to the Seldom Seen Kid of the title, Bryan Glancy, Manchester songwriter and sadly missed friend of Elbow who died in 2007 with a delicacy and honesty that is a consistent hallmark of the band.

Elbow The Seldom Seen Kid Track Listing:

1. Starlings
2. The Bones Of You
3. Mirrorball
4. Grounds For Divorce
5. An Audience With The Pope
6. Weather To Fly
7. The Loneliness of a Tower Crane Driver
8. The Fix
9. Some Riot
10. One Day Like This
11. Friend Of Ours