CHRISSIE HYNDE Standing in the Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob Dylan LP

CHRISSIE HYNDE Standing in the Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob Dylan LP

  • £14.99
    Unit price per 
  • Save £5
Tax included.


The Pretenders' Chrissie Hynde releases a new album of Bob Dylan covers called Standing in the Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob Dylan. The album is available on CD and vinyl.

Chrissie proved the bona fides of her Dylan fandom decades ago. She sang “It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue” with him onstage at Wembley Stadium in ’84 and serenaded him with her own jaw-dropping, gospel-tinged rendition of “I Shall Be Released” at his 30th anniversary concert in ’91. She’s vouched for his born-again years, belting “Property of Jesus” on her solo tours, and she slipped his lilting secular favourite “Forever Young” into the Pretenders’ set list only a few years ago. So an album like Standing in the Doorway, which collects nine Dylan cover songs, must have felt like second nature to her.

The project came together last year after Dylan surprise-released a couple of songs, “Murder Most Foul” and “I Contain Multitudes,” in the early months of lockdown, moving her to select some of her favourite Dylan songs and record them with the Pretenders’ lead guitarist James Walbourne as a “lockdown series” of YouTube videos. But rather than reinterpret “Like a Rolling Stone” and “Mr. Tambourine Man” like masters of warhorses, the pair opted for less obvious fare, including many recordings Dylan made in the early Eighties, allowing Hynde a wider berth to fit them to her voice and character.


1. In the Summertime
2. You're a Big Girl Now
3. Standing in the Doorway
4. Sweetheart like You
5. Blind Willie McTell
6. Love Minus Zero / No Limit
7. Don't Fall Apart on Me Tonight
8. Tomorrow Is a Long Time
9. Every Grain of Sand