• £14.99
    Unit price per 
  • Save £5
Tax included.

Release Date: 4th September

For his first record in….uh, well, just a little over a year (!), Bill Callahan’s given us his first Gold Record. They can’t all be gold, and they’re not all six years apart either — all good! You could probably call the album “Gold Records,” too: all the songs have a stand-alone feel, like singles, meant for you to have a deep encounter with all of a sudden, from the start of the song to the finish. And what do you got when you have a record full of singles — and let’s face it, hit singles, at that?

That’s a Gold Record for you.

From the top, it’s clear this is music with an affection for people, as Bill immediately slips easily and deeply into his characters. Among them: a limo driver, a watcher of television, a suitor, a man in a broken-down car, a reader of books, a Ry Cooder superfan, and in the closing number, a wanderer who “notices when people notice things”. The voices of the people, with their ups and downs, their loss and laughter. You can feel the love.


  • 1.Pigeons
  • 2.Another Song
  • 3.35
  • 4.Protest Song
  • 5.The Mackenzies
  • 6.Let's Move To The Country
  • 7.Breakfast
  • 8.Cowboy
  • 9.Ry Cooder
  • 10.As I Wander