• £12.99
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

Across 19 tracks in just 40 minutes, Goat Girl's self-titled debut creates a half-fantasy world out of a very dirty, ugly city reality.

It's a very English album - sharp-eyed observations like The Kinks, louche rage like The Slits - but it's also full of swampy, swaggering guitars and singer Lottie's filthy drawl. Each member brings a diverse range of influences and contributions, ranging from krautrock to bossa nova, jazz to blues. They resist being boxed in to an indie, guitar-based genre and focused intensely on the layers and textures of each song as well as the different contexts they could sit within.

The result, Goat Girl, succeeds in conjuring a complete world all unto itself and is arranged in segments - divided by improvised interludes - that offer glimpses of an even stranger parallel universe. With each song acting as its own story of sorts that features different settings and characters, listeners are transported within. It's dark yet cheeky, varied yet cohesive and striking in its vision; this world is populated by creeps and liars, lovers, dreamers and wonderful lunatics.

- LP


1. Salty Sounds
2. Burn The Stake
3. Creep
4. Viper Fish
5. A Swamp Dog's Tale
6. Cracker Drool
7. Slowly Reclines
8. The Man With No Heart Or Brain
9. Moonlit Monkey
10. The Man
11. Lay Down
12. I Don't Care Part 1
13. Hank's Theme
14. I Don't Care Part 2
15. Throw Me A Bone
16. Dance Of Dirty Leftovers
17. Little Liar
18. Country Sleaze