• £25.99
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

Long-Awaited First Pressing of Gillian Welch's Soul Journey Mastered for Vinyl LP Directly from the Original Analogue Tapes on a Custom-Built Lathe, Pressed at QRP for Audiophile Quality

Gillian Welch's rich and remarkable career spans over 20 years, and is a pillar of the modern acoustic music world. This is the long-awaited first pressing of the roots singer/songwriter's moving 2003 album, Soul Journey, a collaborative effort with producer/multi-instrumentalist David Rawlings which Mojo called "pretty much perfect" in their 5-star review. It marked the pair's first experimentation with a fuller, electric sound and is home to some of the most beloved songs in Welch's catalog including the timeless classics "Look at Miss Ohio" and "Wayside/Back in Time."

Mastered for vinyl direct from the analogue tapes by Gillian Welch and David Rawlings on their own custom-built VMS 80 lathe with Ortofon amplifiers and plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings. The vinyl LP comes packaged in a gatefold old-style tip-on jacket with a printed insert and lyrics which are included with the album for the first time.

"We have been working and waiting 20 years to bring you our music on phonograph record. It took a while, because we wanted to do it the right way, the absolute best way humanly possible, and I believe that's what we've done. No sonic stone was left unturned, no nuance let fall by the wayside. There is honestly nothing else I can imagine hoping to hear out of the original tapes. It is all there in the groove. As people whose lives were changed by the sound of music coming off turntables, we humbly invite you to include us in your record collection." - Gillian Welch

“To my ears the recording is as perfect as the performances, so in my world this gets the rare 11 for music and sound.”
—Michael Fremer, Analog Planet

  1. Look at Miss Ohio
  2. Make Me A Pallet On Your Floor
  3. Wayside / Back In Time
  4. I Had A Real Good Mother And Father
  5. One Monkey
  6. No One Knows My Name
  7. Lowlands
  8. One Little Song
  9. I Made A Lovers Prayer
  10. Wrecking Ball